In the foreground, a funeral stele dated 1411: 'Esta es la estela de la honorable
[Es]telina, hija del prohombre (Ast)ruc Cohen guárdela en su Roca y su Redentor'
Preceded by the display windows of the Sepharad shop, specialising in Jewish bibliography,
the door of the Bonastruc ça Porta Centre is to be found at number 8 Força street, housing inside the Jewish History Museum and the Nahmanides Studies' Institute which takes its name from the great Kabbalist, philosopher, Talmudist, poet, doctor
and rabbi of Girona Moses ben Nahman, known as Nahmanides and popularly called Bonastruc ça Porta. The last synagogue of Girona was located in this same building, in operation in the 15th centiry after
the main synagogue closed.
The Jewish History Museum has 12 rooms dedicated to the everyday life, rituals and traditions, the Jerusalem
diaspora and the arrival of the Jews in Catalonia, the synagogue, the Jewish cemetery, Nahmanides, cultural and scientific activity of Catalan Jews
and the difficult relations between the Jewish community and Christians from the end
of the 14th century to 1492. Of particular note is the series of funeral headstones from the 12th to the 15th deriving from Montjuïc cemetery, unique of their kind.
The museum also devotes two rooms to temporary exhibitions and has access to the Estrella courtyard with its old cistern, the site of open air activities, spaces which accommodate a
large part of the wealth of cultural activity it generates
Finally, on the third floor of the Centre are the outbuildings of the Nahmanides Studies Institute, the conference rooms and the library specialised in Jewish items whose mission is
to research and educate.
The Centre houses the Patronat Call de Girona institution, a municipal public body which manages the Call complex and
the central offices and secretaries of the Jewish quarter Network and the AEPJ, European association for the preservation and promotion of
Jewish culture and heritage.